Staff Reports
Arizona Daily Wildcat
April 20, 1998


Several UA student athletes attended the Arizona Asthmatic Achievement Awards Luncheon put on by the American Lung Association of Arizona Friday.

The event was held at Bombardier Aerospace in Hanger H.

The luncheon honors individuals who have made great contributions to the association and the children.

This year, the theme of the event was a tribute to flying. Not only was a airplane hanger transformed into the site of the luncheon, but the children were treated to a tour of several aircraft sitting just outside the hanger.

The Wildcats who attended, almost thirty in all, were each assigned a table of children. Each athlete was responsible for serving the elementary students their Olive Garden meal as well as converse with them about athletics, school and rising above obstacles.

A special treat for both the children and athletes was the inclusion of an actual pilot at each table as well.

KVOA weatherman Jimmy Stewart, himself a pilot, was on hand as a guest speaker.

As one of the final activities of the day, the students, with the help of the athletes, made paper airplanes that the pilots then flew for their respective tables.


Today through April 24, the NCAA is on campus taking numerous pictures of Wildcat athletes for its central photo library. The organization plans to photograph UA student athletes from several sports participating in a variety of activities.

In weekend club sports action, Arizona's rugby team finished third at the Cherry Blossom National Invitational tournament. They defeated Amherst College 23-3 yesterday afternoon on the Capitol mall. The Laxcats defeated Loyola Marymount 21-7 at Wildcat Field Saturday in the quarterfinals of the WCLL playoffs. Look for extended coverage in tomorrow's edition.

By the Numbers


The number of times a Wildcat player was selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The most recent initial-round pick for Arizona was offensive tackle John Fina for Buffalo in 1996.

He is joined by Walter Nielsen (1939), Bill Lueck (1968), Mike Dawson (1976), Chris Singleton (1990) and Anthony Smith (1990).

(LAST_STORY)  - (Wildcat Chat)  - (NEXT_STORY)