UA women finish 3rd at Pac-10 swim and dive championships

By From staff and wire reports
Arizona Daily Wildcat
Monday, March 1, 2004

The Arizona women's swimming and diving team completed the 2004 Pac-10 Championships Saturday with a total of 1,221.50 points. Junior Jessica Hayes took home the Pac-10 title in the 200-yard backstroke with an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:56.41.

In the platform diving competition, UA freshman Mary Yarrison finished in third place (377.30 points) and senior Daniela Bemme finished fourth (371.05).

Freshman Melissa Johnson posted the first NCAA consideration time of the evening in the 1,650-yard freestyle with a time of 16:45.59. In the 100-yard freestyle, sophomores Marshi Smith, Ryann Hackett and freshman Kathryn Elofson finished with consolation final honors, each posting an NCAA consideration time.

In the 200-yard breaststroke, sophomore Erin Sieper and senior Jessica Wagner tallied two more NCAA consideration times, finishing fourth (2:15.58) and fifth (2:15.64), respectively. Freshman Whitney Myers finished fourth in the 200-yard butterfly (1:56.37) and junior Emily Mason finished sixth (1:56.81), where both swimmers posted NCAA automatic qualifying times in a fast-paced championship heat.

The 400-yard freestyle relay team of Hayes, Smith, Hackett and freshman Lauren Preyss finished fourth with an NCAA consideration time of 3:21.07 to complete the championships.

For the men's platform diving competition in Federal Way, Wash., senior Josh Anderson finished fourth with a total of 450.85 points.

The Wildcats will be back in the pool Thursday to Saturday. when the men's swimming team travels to Long Beach, Calif., for the Pacific 10 Conference Championships.