UA swimers start season with sweep

Arizona Daily Wildcat

The Arizona men's and women's swimming teams started off their seasons this past Friday, both defeating New Mexico at the Hillenbrand Aquatic Center.

The UA men won 163-107, while the UA women won handily 189-86.

"This is a good measuring stick for us," Coach Frank Busch said.

The newcomers on both teams showed promise as several of the freshmen won events.

On the men's side, freshman Trevor Gray won the 100-meter backstroke with a time of 52.74, and also won the 200 backstroke in 1:52.99.

On the women's side, freshman Laurie Kline won the 200 freestyle in 1:53.24, and Megan Smith, a transfer from Tennessee, won the 100 backstroke in 1:07.73.

Also performing well for the women was freshman Maureen Phillips, who won the 100 butterfly with a time of 58.87.

Returning swimmers did their part as well in the Wildcats' victory over the Lobos.

Robert Abernathy, 1993 NCAA Champion and school record holder, returned after a season off in Australia and won the 100 breastroke in 58.05, and the 50 freestyle in 21.06.

As for the Wildcat diving team, Marni DeRyckere won both the one-meter and three-meter events for the women, and Brian Spears won both events for the men.

DeRyckere's score on the three meter, 258.45, and Spears score on the one meter, 318.45, both met the NCAA zone qualifying standards.

With the women winning 12 of their 14 events and the men winning nine of their 14 events, this was a good way for the coaches to see the newcomers.

"This is a good way to open the season and get in and race some different people," Busch said. "It's a good gauge of how far we have come, and also how far we have yet to go."

Read Next Article