Contested races indicate greater interest in ASUA

By Christie S. Peterson

Arizona Daily Wildcat

The official 1995 Associated Students primary elections candidates were announced Tuesday morning, and unlike last year, none of the races are uncontested.

Presidential candidates are Ben Driggs, Brad Milligan, and Ethan Orr.

Candidates for Vice President for Programs and Services are Andrea Major and David Weitzenfeld.

Candidates for Vice President for Clubs and Organizations are Andy Steinberg and Rhett Trujillo.

There are 12 candidates for the eight Undergraduate Senate positions. They are Jay Won Bartlett, Jonathan Bierner, Gilbert Davidson, Enrique Davis, Kyle Dorsey, Andrew Higgins, Charlie Hong, Sergio Jasso, Mike Lavin, Gahl Leddel, Mindy McCollum, and Mark Willner.

There was one other possible senatorial candidate, Rasheed Brooks, who was disqualified because he did not meet the requirement of being enrolled in seven units last semester.

Unlike last year, there are no uncontested races. Assistant Elections Commissioner Eric Knopp saw this competition as a positive development for the candidates because, "they (will) have some validity to their holding office."

He also commented that the presidential debates will be more important and interesting than last year's, at which there was only one candidate.

ASUA President T.J. Trujillo called the candidate turnout "outstanding," and said it "shows a strong interest in student government."

Read Next Article