UA track teams win Shootout

Arizona Daily Wildcat

The Arizona men's and women's track and field teams won the combined team title at the Jim Click Shootout, held Saturday at Roy P. Drachman Stadium.

The two Wildcat programs combined to score 361 points, which outdistanced Washington (317), Colorado (286) and Iowa State (190).

The Arizona men also won their competition with 207 points, while the Washington women won their title with 157 points, three better than Arizona's 154.

Individually, the Wildcats were paced by senior Martin Keino's double-victory day. Keino ran away in both the 1500- and 5000-meter races with times of 3:51.49 and 14:31.74, respectively.

On the women's side, Rebecca Butt had an outstanding day, as she won both the triple jump (41 feet, 7 1/4 inches) and high jump (5-8 1/4) while placing second in the long jump with a leap of 19-8 3/4. The mark in the triple jump was an NCAA provisional qualifying jump.

The UA's Suzanne Castruita won the 3000 with an NCAA provisional time of 9:36.98 and Viola Schaffer's third-place time of 9:39.09 in the same event also made her a provisional qualifier.

The Wildcats' first-place team finish was helped by nine other first-place finishes, including David Loshonkohl in the hammer throw (217-10), Tyson Lingenfelter in the shot put (57-10 1/2), Leo Simmons in the 110 hurdles (14.10), Dominic Johnson in the pole vault (16-0 3/4), Alex Krichenko's provisional javelin throw of 234-8, Anson Watts in the 400 hurdles (52.80), Luther Kopf in the 800 (1:50.68), Felicia Lane in the 100 (11.82) and Dawn Mortenson in the 200 (24:41).

Read Next Article