Wildcats holding close third behind ASU, USC

Arizona Daily Wildcat


The Arizona men's golf team was in third place after Monday's play at the 1995 Men's Pacific 10 Conference Golf Championships being held at Meadow Springs Golf Club (6,750 yards, par 72) in Richland, Wash.

Arizona State was the team leader with 710. Southern Cal was in second with 720, followed by the Wildcats in third with a 36-hole score of 722. Cal and Oregon rounded out the top five with 724 and 728, respectively.

Scott Johnson of the Sun Devils was the individual leader with a 7-under-par score of 137. The Golden Bears' Charlie Wi was one stroke back with 138. Junior Ted Purdy of the UA was leading the Wildcats and was in a fifth-place tie with a 3-under 141. Arizona senior Benjamin Nicolay shot a second-round score of 66 and was in a seventh-place tie with 142.

Other individual Wildcat scores:

Tim Beans, tied for 23rd (72-74 146); Rory Sabbatini, tied for 28th (72-75 147); Jim Zadvorny, tied for 36th (72-77 149); Matt Bergstrom, tied for 40th (76-74 150).

Play continued yesterday and concludes today with 18 holes being played each day. Today's tee time was 7:30 a.m.


The Arizona women's golf team will compete in the West Regional of the 1995 National Collegiate Women's Golf Championships May 11-13 at the Randolph North Golf Course.

The East Regional will take place concurrently at the Quail Ridge Golf Course in Memphis, Tenn., and will be hosted by the University of Memphis.

The Championships structure

is as follows: For Division I only, two regional tournaments encompassing the current five districts, will be conducted to determine the championships field for Division I.

Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition, and all national championships policies will apply.

A total of 204 participants have been selected for the regional competition. Ninety-five of these players will advance to the championships finals May 24-27 at the Landfall Golf Club in Wilmington, N.C. The finals will be hosted by the University of North Carolina in Wilmington.

The Wildcats will play in the Far West District with Arizona State, Stanford, San Jose State, UCLA, Oregon, Southern Cal, Washington, Brigham Young, Oregon State and Hawaii.

The Sun Devils won their second consecutive National Collegiate Women's Golf Championship in 1994 in Portland, Ore.

Read Next Article