Sports News
UA Basketball


news Sports Opinions arts variety interact Wildcat On-Line QuickNav

Starters announced for All-Star Game

Arizona Summer Wildcat
July 7, 1999
Send comments to:

The fans have voted and the results are in as the starters of the 1999 Major League Baseball All-Star Game have been announced.

The American League boasts four starters from the Cleveland Indians in first baseman Jim Thome, second baseman Roberto Alomar, and outfielders Kenny Lofton and Manny Ramirez. Rounding out the starters for the AL is catcher Ivan Rodriguez from Texas, shortstop Nomar Garciaparra from Boston, third baseman Cal Ripken Jr. from Baltimore, outfielder Ken Griffey Jr. from Seattle and designated hitter Jose Canseco from Tampa Bay.

The National League's infield starters are first baseman Mark McGwire from St. Louis, second baseman Jay Bell from Arizona, shortstop Barry Larkin from Cincinnati and third baseman Matt Williams from Arizona. The outfield for the NL will consist of Larry Walker from Colorado, Tony Gwynn from San Diego and Sammy Sosa from Chicago. Behind the plate for the NL will be Mike Piazza from New York.

The designated hitter for the NL as well as the starting pitchers for both teams have yet to be announced.