Ceremony honors summer teachers

By Kelly Canright

Arizona Daily Wildcat

The votes are in, and the winner is .

The two winners of the Summer 1994 Excellence in Teaching Awards ceremony were announced by Anita McDonald, associate director of Extended University, earlier this week. The awards honor teachers from 1994 University of Arizona summer classes.

The recipients are educational psychology Professor Darrell Sabers, and graduate teaching assistant in civil engineering S. Ramakrishnan.

Honorable mention will be given to Spanish and Portuguese Associate Professor Karl Gregg, molecular and cellular biology adjunct lecturer Barbara Fishel, and anthropology teaching assistant Andrea Freeman.

Anne Fillmore, the coordinator of the teaching awards, said nomination forms were placed in the summer session book, in the Wildcat and around campus.

"Ninety-nine percent of the people who nominate are students," Fillmore said. "We received several hundred nomination forms."

More than 12,000 students and 500 faculty were at the UA this summer.

A committee was formed to choose the recipients of the awards.

Two students, one from ASUA and one student at large, were slated to be on the committee, but "ASUA never returned my calls," Fillmore said, so only one student was on the committee this year. Michael Lazzaro, a soil and water sciences junior, was chosen as the student at large to participate in selecting the award recipients.

Other members of the selection committee are assistant dean of education Janice Streitmatter, physics graduate student Jim


Borgardt and McDonald.

The criteria the committee looked for was "an ability to inspire a quest for knowledge, an ability to challenge to further study, a commitment to teaching, a use of creative teaching methods, a commitment to the extended learning experience beyond the classroom, an availability to students and a responsiveness to students' needs," Fillmore said.

The Excellence in Teaching Awards are co-sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Academic Outreach and International Affairs and the Office of the Summer Session.

Read Next Article